Make some noise ~ it’s Photo Friday!

If a picture is so boring that you notice the noise, it’s a boring picture. ~ Rick Sammon

Noise can be present in images. Electronic noise will be present in camera sensors, and the physical size of the grains of film emulsion creates visual noise. This kind of noise is referred to as “grain.” ~Wikipedia

art-7011alibiblend5moon_x2infl“Conversation”

I occasionally check out Rick Sammon’s photography blog and noticed this leading quote.  It stimulated some thinking about my own images and noise. I guess I’d say an image is a keeper if the noise does not detract from the impact of the image.  I’ve had some horribly noisy images especially with older digital cameras that did not perform well at higher ISO’s  but still had some keepers due to the strength of other elements of the image.  Or, sometimes it was just the best I could do under circumstances which deemed a photo “good enough.”

The image above is a blend of  6 images plus a very faded texture layer.  The image of the bar crowd is very noisy – shot at 6400 ISO. With all of the other activity within this piece the noise doesn’t jump out but I’m not sure if I’d enlarge this to a huge size.

4 thoughts on “Make some noise ~ it’s Photo Friday!

  1. Nice pic but not being an artist I don’t get the connection with the kids in the pic. I get the guys in the bar probably talking over the fall harvest, and the combine, and the wheat field and even the moon although I thought it sd be smaller. Maybe I am too much a realist rather than an artist.

    Like

  2. The kids were my attempt at conveying bar conversation about their youth or their kids. I had the moon larger than reality to give a feeling of the vastness of the universe compared to our small lives and to show the detail in the moon. Just an experiment – to each their own!

    Like

Leave a Reply

