Dreams…

dreams timeline

Canon 5D Mark 2, available light, black and white ,
2.8 at 1/250, ISO 200

You may say I’m a dreamer,
But I’m not the only one. ~ John Lennon

I would venture to say that it’s healthy to dream and establish goals, but the practical side of me thinks that too much dreaming means you get nothing done. Too much time spent dreaming means you may be missing the enjoyment of everyday life in your search for utopia or grandiose achievements.

Traveling the globe, photographing the 7 wonders of the world and beyond is my wildest dream, but in reality I’d probably tire of that lifestyle rather quickly due to the constant days on the road with pressure to catch that once in a lifetime shot.  Truth is, I’m kind of an ordinary homebody.  I am also the queen of multitasking so why not combine my ordinary kind of dreaming with achieving?

Dream of improving fitness level:  ( I live in Minnesota) Notice the subtle changes of seasons while on a power walk and consider nature on an artistic level.  Watch a travel show or documentary while on the treadmill to expand knowledge of the world. (Currently following the Karl Pilkington British T.V. series An Idiot Abroad on Netflix.  Can’t imagine why this show draws me in!

Dream of simple pleasures:  Find enjoyment during the work day whether it be a funny joke told by a co-worker, an interesting conversation, or a pleasant drive to or from work.  Appreciate the beauty of sunrises and sunsets and you may find they have a calming effect.  Remember who created that beauty and be thankful with prayer.  Appreciate the little things in life such as a good, hot cup (or 2) of delicious coffee in the morning. ( Bonus points if I don’t have to make it myself.) What is your simple pleasure?

Dream of a productive day:  Make a checklist of tasks and feel the glow of satisfaction as you make each big, fat check…done.

Dream of writing a book:  While I do not have a book on the horizon, I will be working on photography and design of E-Book covers for a talented writer of historic fiction.  Kind of a dream in itself while helping another fulfill her dream.

Dream of a tidy, everything in its place, uncluttered type of organized home and life:  Ummm… I’ve got nothing for that one.  Any ideas?

Enough dreaming for one day… I’ve got things to do!

One thought on “Dreams…

  1. Joyce, Love the photo and love the text! I knew I liked you the first time I met you—I think we may be kindred spirits. “Old souls” as Ashley said about Kenadee. In a few weeks that sweet little baby will be six years old!

    Like

Leave a Reply

