Backpack Training: Plan A / Plan B

Summer hiking season is here and are we ready?  Well… maybe?   Maybe not?

Better late than never, so it’s time to start the training since I don’t want to look like this poor soul:

joan_1dmv1web(Face has been blurred to protect identity… but, you KNOW who you are!!)

I’m pretty confident that my legs will be in shape, but what about the rest of me?

This is my Plan A:   I have started walking with 10 pounds on my back (pack plus contents), which I plan to gradually increase and I did stumble upon the following link with upper body exercises to help balance the body.

Training for hiking with a backpack

One great benefit to these exercises is that  it should take care of the flabby, underarm skin that flaps in time with the prairie winds.  Not a pretty site.

Do I have the discipline to actually DO these workouts before I tackle the next big hill or mountain?  Maybe… maybe not?

Have no fear as I have a Plan B to help my muscles feel better at the end of the day:

wine-9974pophpwebBuen camino!

2 thoughts on “Backpack Training: Plan A / Plan B

  1. Ha ha Hilarious!! Plan B looks like more fun!! By the way, our victim here has surgery next week to repair tendons and acl on one knee. That’s the good knee… She has to have knee replacement on the other knee. Good thing she did the Camino when she did. Kathy is also having back and leg problems? Guess I better get on the “Ball!”

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

